Jenkintown, PA DUI Defense Lawyer
The most important decision you can make if you’ve been charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUID) is what attorney you choose to represent you. Trying to take the law into your own hands can leave you with hefty fines, a suspended license and possibly jail time. An experienced attorney can help you understand the charges against you and fight to reduce those charges.
Young, Marr and Associates has more than three decades’ experience in DUI law. We have worked with thousands of clients, many from Jenkintown, PA, who faced DUI or DUID charges. There are many details surrounding most DUI/DUID charges and navigating through the legal process yourself can be confusing, stressful, and detrimental to the outcome of your case.
What are the Penalties for a DUI in Jenkintown, PA?
In Pennsylvania, a person can be charged with DUI for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance or street drug. For drivers under the age of 21, lower DUI thresholds apply. For instance, a BAC of .02 results in a DUI charge.
A DUI or DUID charge can result in:
- up to 30 days in jail
- 3-month license suspension
- at least 12 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- a $1000 insurance surcharge for 3 years
- a $250 – $500 fine
- a $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund surcharge
- a $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee
- a $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee
- a Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75
- a Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50
While jail time and license suspension aren’t usually an issue for first-time offenders in Pennsylvania for those with a BAC less than .10%, offenders can expect a $300 fine, up to 6 months of probation, attending alcohol safety school, and other treatments or penalties may be imposed.
ARD Program for a Pennsylvania DUI First Offense
Also in Pennsylvania is ARD, a program unique to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and designed to spare first-time offenders, who are unlikely to repeat their offense.
Completion of the ARD program results in the dismissal of charges and provides you with a clean criminal history. The District Attorney has final say in who can participate in an ARD program, but generally you must have a clean record and no previous ARD participation within the last 10 years. Further, a minor under the age of 14 cannot have been a passenger nor can a third party have suffered injury or death.
Despite ARD’s benefits, you should consult with one of our experienced attorneys before agreeing to any program. In some instances, the facts may dictate that you should fight the charges against you.
Call Our DUI Defense Attorneys in Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
You need an experienced lawyer on your side and Young, Marr and Associates offers that. We will work with you and for you to reduce or entirely dismiss the charges against you.
Do not speak to the police if you’ve been arrested and charged with DUI or DUID. Instead, pick up the phone and call us now! We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We make emergency jail or holding center visits, and free consultations are available. Let us help you determine the best course of action, based on your circumstances. We will walk you through the finite details of the arrest, the charges against you, potential consequences if convicted and most importantly, whether or not your rights have been violated in the process. We will stand by you and fight to ensure you get the best possible outcome in your case.
You can reach one of our experienced Jenkintown, PA DUI lawyers by filling out the available form or by calling (215) 701-6519.