Hamilton Township, NJ DWI Defense Lawyer
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense in New Jersey. Individuals who violate New Jersey’s DWI laws are subject to a wide range of penalties depending on the circumstances of the offense. Once a driver has consumed enough alcohol to be over the legal limit, they can be charged with a DWI offense. Unfortunately, drivers are sometimes arrested when they are not above NJ’s legal alcohol limit. Drivers dragged into the criminal justice system due to a borderline DWI offense may suffer consequences that affect various parts of their life. If you or a family member was charged with a DWI, you should contact an experienced New Jersey DWI defense lawyer.
The attorneys at Young, Marr & Associates have gained years of experience representing clients in DWI cases and will utilize that experience to represent you. Our legal professionals will work tirelessly to help you achieve the legal outcome you deserve in your DWI case. For your free consultation, call us at (215) 372-8667 or reach us online.
Being Charged with DWI in New Jersey
In New Jersey, any person who drives a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or narcotics can be charged with a DWI. To determine whether a driver is intoxicated, NJ administers a breathalyzer or chemical test. If a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or greater, they can be charged with a DWI. BAC refers to the level of alcohol present in a person’s bloodstream.
In some circumstances, a driver can be charged with DWI if they were under the .08 threshold. For example, if a police officer observes you driving erratically but your BAC is below .08, you may still be charged with a DWI. If you are under 21 and possess a BAC of .01 or higher, you may also be charged with a DWI.
The Penalties for a DWI in New Jersey
Generally speaking, New Jersey takes a punitive approach to first-time offenders. However, the penalties are harsh and can greatly impact your ability to live your life. A first offense of DWI with a BAC of .08 or higher, but less than .10, carry penalties such as:
- Up to a $400 fine
- Three-month driver’s license suspension
- Imprisonment for up to 30 days
- Participation in a supervised visitation program
- Installation of an interlock device for up to one year
An ignition interlock device measures a driver’s BAC before they can start their vehicle. If a driver with an interlock device tries to deceive the device by having a sober individual start their car, the convicted offender and the other individual may be charged with an offense.
First Offense DWIs
The penalties for a first offense with a BAC of .10 or higher is similar to a .08 BAC offense. However, an offender with a BAC of .10 or higher will have their license suspended at least seven months but not more than a year. If you are charged with a second DWI offense, you may receive a two-year license suspension and up to 90 days in prison. The fine for a second offense also carries up to $1,000 in fines.
The penalties for a third DWI offense is especially severe. For example, you may face up to 180 days in prison, and the court may order you to serve 90 of those days at an alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program. Additionally, your driver’s license may be suspended for 10 years.
DWIs on School Property
In New Jersey, you can also be charged with DWI while on school property. For a first offense DWI on school property, you may receive a 60-day prison sentence and license suspension for up to two years. A second offense carries a four-year license suspension, a mandatory 60 days of community service, and up to 180 days in prison. The penalty for a third DWI on school property will result in a license suspension of 20 years, beginning after the completion of any prison sentence. A third-time offender may also be charged with up to 180 days in prison or a mandatory rehabilitation program.
DWI offenses in New Jersey may also cost you a significant sum of money for various fines:
- a $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fundsurcharge
- a $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee
- a $100 Intoxicated Driving Programfee
- a Safe and Secure Community Programfee of $75
- a Violent Crimes Compensation Fundfee of $50
Our New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys Can Fight Your DWI Charge
If you or a family member is facing a DWI charge, you should speak with an experienced New Jersey DWI criminal defense attorney today. The diligent attorneys at Young, Marr & Associates will help you fight your DWI case and reclaim your driver’s license. To schedule a free consultation for your case, call us or contact us online.
NO JAIL TIME
Commonwealth v. "H" (DUI case)
Client was charged with three separate DUI cases calling for mandatory minimum imprisonment of 90 days on each case. Client was advised to seek immediate intensive alcohol counseling. Client was sentenced to 1 year of house arrest after serving 3 days in the county prison.
Commonwealth v. "C" (Felony drug/Firearms case)
Client was charged with felony Delivery of drugs and illegal gun possession and was facing a mandatory 3-6 year prison sentence in the State prison system. Client was sentenced to one year of house arrest.
Commonwealth v. "S"
Client was charged with simple assault, domestic. After a hearing where evidence and testimony was presented, the entire case was dismissed by Judge Leonard Brown.
State of New Jersey v. "H"
Charges for young man charged with second degree aggravated assault were downgraded to third degree and he was accepted into the County Pretrial Intervention program with charges to be dismissed and record expunged after one year of misconduct free behavior.
OUR CRIMINAL DEFENSE TEAM INCLUDES TWO FORMER DISTRICT ATTORNEYS
We have decades of experience dealing with local police departments, prosecutors, and judges throughout southeastern Pennsylvania and New Jersey.
Anyone facing charges involving a criminal offense can expect to experience a heightened degree of emotional turmoil, for themselves, as well as their family members. Our team of highly qualified criminal law attorneys and expert legal support staff are committed to providing each of our client’s with the compassion and understanding they deserve, as well as an aggressive plan for representation at an affordable price.
As former prosecutors, we have a balanced and in-depth understanding of the criminal justice system and how the prosecution prepares cases. In addition, we have long-standing experience dealing with local police departments, prosecutors and judges throughout southeastern Pennsylvania and New Jersey.
At Young, Marr and Associates, when we say “experience matters,” we mean it. Our lawyers, which include two former prosecutors and a former senior deputy district attorney bring more than three decades of criminal law experience, handling more than 10,000 criminal cases. It is precisely that experience that allows us to achieve outstanding results for our clients facing DUI, traffic, felony and misdemeanor charges in state, federal and juvenile courts.