East Brunswick NJ DUI Defense Lawyer
DUI Defense Attorneys in East Brunswick, New Jersey
If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you need to take action immediately! Repercussions of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) or DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs) can leave you with financial, societal, and relationship stress – and without expert consultation about your best course of action – you could be left navigating legal matters alone for years to come following your charge or charges.
Young, Marr and Associates has more than three decades of experience in criminal defense, including DUI law, and our experienced team will ensure you are aware of what your charges mean, what your next steps should be and alert you to whether or not your rights have been violated.
We have worked with thousands of clients who had DUI or DUID charges stacked against them and it’s our passion to guide our clients through the legal process and ensure they receive the best possible outcome.
New Jersey DUI laws are punitive and harsh! Like all 50 states, a person can be charged with DUI for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance or street drug. For drivers under the age of 21, lower DUI thresholds apply. For instance, a BAC of .02 results in a DUI charge.
A first offense in New Jersey can result in:
- up to 30 days in jail
- 3-month license suspension
- at least 12 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- a $1000 insurance surcharge for 3 years
- a $250 – $500 fine
- a $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund surcharge
- a $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee
- a $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee
- a Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75
- a Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50
If you’re charged with a DUI or DUID in a school zone, with a BAC greater than .10 percent or if narcotics are involved, even higher penalties would apply.
A second offense in New Jersey can lead to up to 90 days in jail, a 2-year license suspension and a fine of $500-$1,000. New Jersey also has an implied consent law, which means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension.
You need an experienced legal team on your side and Young, Marr and Associates offers committed DUI representation. We will work with you and for you in an effort to reduce or entirely dismiss the charges against you.
If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, call us immediately and do not speak to the police. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We make emergency jail or holding center visits, and free consultations are available.
Don’t face DUI or DUID charges alone.
You can reach one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys by filling out the available form or by calling (609) 755-3115