Doylestown, PA DUI Defense Lawyer
A DUI charge can turn your life upside down! Not only are you potentially facing high fines, a suspended license and jail time, without proper representation you’ll likely have long-term consequences like court-ordered classes, community service and personal struggles such as trouble finding work and relationship problems. That’s why you need an experienced lawyer who can examine the details of your arrest to see if there were inconsistencies or actions that may have violated your rights.
Getting stopped for drunk driving is a serious offense and can have varying consequences depending upon several factors. No matter where you live in the U.S. though, it’s a crime to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level at or above 0.08 percent.
Young, Marr and Associates has worked with thousands of clients who faced DUI (Driving under the Influence) or DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs) charges. Our experienced team will analyze the evidence stacked against you, guide you through the process and ensure you get the best possible outcome available. Most importantly, we will stand by you and make sure your rights haven’t been violated.
DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, a person can be charged with DUI for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance or street drug. For drivers under the age of 21, lower DUI thresholds apply. For instance, a BAC of .02 results in a DUI charge.
A DUI or DUID can result in:
- up to 30 days in jail
- 3-month license suspension
- at least 12 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- a $1000 insurance surcharge for 3 years
- a $250 – $500 fine
- a $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund surcharge
- a $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee
- a $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee
- a Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75
- a Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50
While jail time and license suspension aren’t usually an issue for first-time offenders in Pennsylvania for those with a BAC less than .10%, offenders can expect a $300 fine, up to 6 months of probation, attending alcohol safety school, and other treatments or penalties may be imposed.
What is Pennsylvania’s ARD Program?
Also in Pennsylvania is ARD, a program unique to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and designed to spare first-time offenders, who are unlikely to repeat their offense.
Completion of the ARD program results in the dismissal of charges and provides you with a clean criminal history. The District Attorney has final say in who can participate in an ARD program, but generally you must have a clean record and no previous ARD participation within the last 10 years. Further, a minor under the age of 14 cannot have been a passenger nor can a third party have suffered injury or death.
Despite ARD’s benefits, you should consult with one of our experienced attorneys before agreeing to any program. In some instances, the facts may dictate that you should fight the charges against you.
DUI Defense Attorneys in Doylestown, PA Offering Free Consultations
With an attorney from Young, Marr and Associates, you’re afforded the peace of mind that we know the ins-and-outs of DUI law and will do whatever it takes to reduce or entirely dismiss the charges against you.
If you have been arrested and charged with DUI, it’s important you call us immediately and do not speak to the police about your charges. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We make emergency jail or holding center visits, and offer free consultations.
You can reach one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys by filling out the available form or by calling (215) 701-6519. Don’t try to fight this alone. We can help you understand the charges against you and will advise you on what you need to do next.