CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

Phones Answered 24 Hours a Day

Burlington County, NJ Criminal Defense Lawyers

Most people who have been charged with a criminal offense in Burlington County do not have any former experience being processed through the New Jersey criminal justice system.  As a result, it is very common for individuals facing criminal allegations to feel worried and anxiety, and to wonder about the charge’s impact on their personal and professional futures.  They may be concerned about having a criminal record, or about the consequences if they are convicted.

Young, Marr & Associates: Burlington County Criminal Defense Lawyers

If you have been accused of committing a crime, you do not have to face the allegations alone.  At Young, Marr & Associates, our experienced criminal defense attorneys have been defending clients in Burlington County, New Jersey against a broad spectrum of charges for over 25 years.  Our criminal defense lawyers have represented more than 10,000 cases, ranging from Disorderly Persons offenses to serious indictable crimes, including juvenile cases.   Our skilled attorneys frequently handle cases including but not limited to matters of:

While the crime rate in Burlington County may be slightly lower than the national rate, it is higher than the average New Jersey rate.  Of 394 distinct areas of New Jersey, Burlington County is in the #338 position for crime, meaning that 337 areas have lower crime rates.

  • United States crime rate: 1,723.80
  • New Jersey crime rate: 1,220.92
  • Burlington County crime rate: 1,524.75

According to the 2012 Annual Report, the Burlington County Prosecutor’s Office saw:

crimerate - Burlington County, NJ Criminal Defense Lawyers

Image from www.USA.com

Categories of Crime in New Jersey

Every state has a different way of categorizing criminal offenses.  Most states use a system of felonies for serious charges and misdemeanors for lesser charges.  New Jersey, however, uses slightly different terminology.  In New Jersey, charges are referred to as either an indictable crime, or a Disorderly Persons (DP) or petty DP offense.   While the wording may be different, an indictable crime is equivalent to a felony, while a DP offense is tantamount to a misdemeanor in other jurisdictions.

Instead of using alphabetical designations like many other states (e.g. a Class A Misdemeanor), New Jersey labels criminal charges with numeric degrees.  A crime will be categorized as 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th Degree.

Assault

Assault, which is one of the most common crimes in America, can be broken down into many different sub-categories, such as:

  • Aggravated Assault
  • Assault and Battery
  • Assault with a Deadly Weapon
  • Physical Assault
  • Sexual Assault
  • Simple Assault

At the most basic level, assault can be divided into two categories: simple (non-aggravated) assault, and aggravated assault.  Simple assault is any instance where one individual deliberately harms or tries to harm another individual.  However, assault can also be unintentional, resulting from negligence.  Even a threat of violence can be considered assault.  Aggravated assault is a more serious offense with harsher penalties, because aggravate assault involves using a deadly weapon, causing extreme injury, or assaulting a police officer, firefighter, medical personnel, etc.

Simple assault is a DP offense with a maximum penalty of:

  • 6 months in jail
  • $1,000 fine

Aggravated assault is an indictable crime with a maximum penalty of:

  • 10 years in prison
  • $150,000 fine

DWI

In New Jersey, DWI is not considered a criminal offense, but a traffic violation.  Nonetheless, DWI can lead to serious consequences for offenders, particularly if there are repeated incidents or if the driver’s BAC is extremely high.  Furthermore, if an individual is injured or even killed because of DWI, the DWI then leaves the realm of traffic violations and becomes an indictable offense.

It should be noted that driving under the influence of narcotics can also be the grounds for a DWI charge; not just driving under the influence of alcohol.

If a DWI does not result in death or injury, the maximum penalties for first-time offenders include:

  • 30 days in jail
  • $400 fine
  • 3 month license suspension

If a DWI results in injury, the maximum penalties (3rd Degree Assault by Auto) include:

  • 5 years in prison
  • $15,000 fine

If a DWI results in death, the maximum penalties (2nd Degree Death by Auto) include:

  • 10 years in prison
  • $200,000 fine

Narcotics

Like assault charges, narcotics charges can be filed into many categories, such as:

  • Cultivation
  • Importation
  • Paraphernalia
  • Possession with Intent to Distribute
  • Prescription Fraud
  • Simple Possession
  • Trafficking
  • Transportation

The most common types of drug charges involve simple possession (personal possession) and possession with intent to distribute.  The way narcotics crimes are classified and penalized varies depending upon factors like the type and amount of drug.  However, some drug convictions can lead to penalties of:

  • 18 months in prison
  • $25,000 fine

At Young, Marr & Associates, our Burlington County drug lawyers have experience handling cases involving a broad spectrum of controlled substances, including but not limited to:

  • Marijuana
  • Cocaine
  • Heroin
  • LSD
  • Ecstasy
  • Methamphetamine

Robbery and Theft

Robbery and theft are slightly different charges, as robbery refers to theft involving use of force, violence, or intimidation.  Theft has a more expansive definition, and can include shoplifting, burglary, identity theft, embezzlement, and other crimes.

Even the most minor robbery charges still fall into the indictable crime category.  The maximum penalties for a robbery conviction in New Jersey include:

  • 20 years in prison
  • $200,000 fine

The maximum penalties for theft-related charges include:

  • 10 years in prison
  • $150,000 fine

Traffic Violations

While traffic violations are not criminal offenses, they can still lead to incarceration, costly fines, and the loss of driving privileges.  Additionally, people charged with traffic violations may have to pay increased insurance rates.  Some of the most common New Jersey traffic violations include:

  • Driving with a Suspended License
  • DWI
  • Reckless Driving
  • Speeding

If you or a loved one is facing criminal allegations or a costly traffic violation in New Jersey, you need a team of highly qualified Burlington County criminal defense attorneys to represent your case.  To schedule a free and private consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer, call the law offices of Young, Marr & Associates at (609) 755-3115 in New Jersey or (215) 701-6519 in Pennsylvania, or contact us online today.

HOW WE CAN HELP

DUI DEFENSE

icon car - Criminal Defense
DUI INFORMATION CENTER

Learn what to do if you have been stopped for DUI/DWI.

icon car - Criminal Defense
ARD IN PENNSYLVANIA

If this is your first DUI offense, you may be eligible for ARD.

Best Philadelphia Criminal Defense Lawyer