+

Young Marr remains dedicated to our clients during this COVID-19 quarantine. We understand that legal needs of our clients must go on during this time. In order to minimize disruption as much as possible, we are offering free consultations via phone and/or video and can have our clients submit documents virtually.

Bucks County, PA Gun Possession Lawyer

While the 2nd Amendment to the U.S. Constitution establishes a right to bear arms for U.S. citizens, this right is not without limitations. Further, if you intend to exercise your right to bear arms, it is essential that you understand your responsibilities and limitations fully and thoroughly. Weapons violations, even first-time offenses, are often felonies and are punished very harshly.

Young, Marr & Associates can help you with all of your firearm needs. If you are seeking a permit, we can help you with each step in the application process. If you have been charged with a crime due to an alleged gun law violation, we can also work to protect you from the serious consequences of felony or misdemeanor charges. A Young, Marr & Associates attorney can assist you with all aspects of your firearm legal needs.

Gun Rights 300x200 - Bucks County, PA Gun Possession Lawyer

A Breakdown of Pennsylvania Gun Laws

Generally speaking for those without a previous felony, it is completely legal to have a handgun at your home or business. However, the instant you take that gun into the outside world, you may risk a misdemeanor or felony weapons charge if you do not have the appropriate permit. Gun laws in Pennsylvania include:

  • Persons not to possess, use, manufacture, control, sell or transfer firearms (Pa C.S. 18-6105)—This law applies to those people with previous criminal convictions. Those convicted of most felonies would fall under 6105 as would many others who have committed certain combinations of misdemeanors. Further, still others may be covered by 6105 such as fugitives from justice and those with a PFA entered against them. 6105 makes it unlawful for these covered individuals to possess a shotgun, handgun or other firearm. It is a 2nd degree felony and can result in punishment of up to 10 years in prison.
  • Firearms not to be carried without a license (Pa C.S. 18-6106) – 6106 applies to those who are carrying concealed weapons with or without a permit to possess in Pennsylvania. This crime is charged as a third degree felony if the weapon is not registered to the carrier it is charged as a first degree misdemeanor if the gun was licensed to the carrier.
  • Carrying firearms on public streets or public property in Philadelphia (Pa C.S. 18- 6108) – Pennsylvania law prohibits individuals from carrying a firearm on the public streets or on the public property of major cities like Philadelphia. Only those who are licensed to carry or exempt from licensing may carry a weapon on the streets of Philadelphia.
  • Possession of a Firearm with an Altered Manufacturer’s Number (Pa C.S. 18- 610.2) – Mere possession of a weapon with an altered serial number can result in this charge being filed against you. This is a 2nd degree felony which can carry up to 10 years in prison.

It is essential to note that the previous is not a comprehensive list of all firearms statutes in Pennsylvania. Many more state and federal laws exist – all of which must be adhered to.

Our Bucks County, PA Gun Possession Attorneys Will Fight for Your Protection

If you have questions about registering a weapon, transferring a gun or a concealed carry permit please contact us. Likewise, if you have been charged with a felony or a misdemeanor due to alleged weapons violations we steadfastly defend your second Amendment rights. Call Young, Marr & Associate today at (609) 755-3115 in New Jersey or (215) 701-6519 in Pennsylvania or contact us online for your free and confidential weapons charges consultation.

HOW WE CAN HELP

DUI DEFENSE

icon car - Criminal Defense
DUI INFORMATION CENTER

Learn what to do if you have been stopped for DUI/DWI.

icon car - Criminal Defense
ARD IN PENNSYLVANIA

If this is your first DUI offense, you may be eligible for ARD.